Nyhavn Canal

I have to add this first, yesterday it snowed…and it was beautiful

snow!

snow!

I am so tired, we had such a busy day. Seth has been working crazy long hours, so me and Pearl let him sleep in today. We ate our breakfast quietly then snuck out to the park. By the time we got back it was Pearl’s naptime so I enjoyed a few minutes of peace while they were snoozing.
When Seth got up we got all bundled up and headed out for an adventure!

cuties

cuties

We went to the Nyhavn Canal. It was GORGEOUS!!!  It’s the picture at the top of this blog…all those colorful buildings. It was simply stunning in real life!

so pretty

so pretty

At the bottom of each building is a cafe with outdoor seating. It was so cute with all the little tables lined up on the cobblestone streets.
The canal is filled with beautiful wooden boats.

oh ship

oh ship

Pearl kept pointing at the canal and yelling “WATER! WATER!”

Some of the cafes had live music. It really made the setting all the more magical.

music

music

There were so many choices for where to eat, we had a hard time deciding. We ended up eating at Nyhavn C.
Seth and I both raved about how good our food was. I got a VERY traditional  Danish meal called “smorrebrod”.

my food

my food

Seth got some kind of veal with potatoes and peas (and beer).

Seth's food

Seth’s food

first Danish beer

first Danish beer

When we finished lunch we decided to walk all over town. We saw the opera house of Copenhagen, which wasn’t really as pretty as I was hoping it would be.

Opera house

Opera house

We walked down this one street that was basically a dream come true. It was a shopping paradise. I look to my left and see Hermes, Gucci, and Urban Outfitters. To my right I see Cartier, Sephora, and TWO H&M’s. TWO!!
Don’t even get me started on the smell in the air, OH THE SMELL!  It was heavenly!
You know when you’re downtown or in NY and on every corner you see a hotdog stand? Well they have that here, except it’s a CREPE stand!!
Yes, you understand correctly, you can get freshly made crepes on every corner.  The smell of those crepe stands will forever be in my heart as something beautiful.

We walked past this one store/mall that our taxi driver told us to check out.  It was insane, 4 stories of shopping. We went up to the top level  where the childrens clothes/toys were.  Pearl played with all the toys they had out, and they even had a carousel that was free!
Pearl rode it abut 4 times.

lovin life

lovin life

When we got home I had to head out to the grocery store. I had heard good things about Netto, so I tried it out even though it was farther than the store behind our apartment. It was well worth the extra walking. They had a great selection and were much more organized, plus they had organic stuff. Yah!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

