Christiana

Seth and I have been needing a date night SO bad!  Back home we are surrounded by family and grandparents eager to babysit Pearl. Here we are all on our own.  One of Seth’s coworkers, Versie, was nice enough to offer to watch Pearl for us one night!  YAH!
We had really been wanting to go to Christiana but did not want to bring Pearl with us….I’ll explain that later.
It was nice to get dressed up and go out with my man, not having to push around the stroller or continuously hand out pretzels and raisins.
Walking there we were passing beautiful canals and old churches….then we saw this big bright mural. We were like, uh yeah we’re here. We  had to pass through a gate to enter, and immediately there was a different vibe.  Not really like a bad I’m afraid I’m gonna get murdered kind of vibe, just a different vibe.
We knew our restaurant had no outside sign, just a red door. So our eyes were on the lookout for a red door. Oh there it is, we found it. We walk in to an old building that (literally) every inch of it was covered in graffiti, walk up 3 disgusting flights of stairs, and then see the sign: Spiseloppen.

graffiti covered staircase

graffiti covered staircase

Spiseloppen

Spiseloppen

Then we walk into the most beautiful restaurant!!!!  I was totally taken back at how romantic and charming this place was. My first thought was, this place would be so perfect for a reception. *my mind is always on weddings*

so cute, right?

so cute, right?

I loved the warm lighting and the ceiling with it’s exposed beams.

date night baby

date night baby

The menu was in Danish so we had to get a translator.
Seth got venison and I got tuna steak. Holy cow…the food was ridiculous. So good.

Seth's venison

Seth’s venison

my tuna steak

my tuna steak

We were both raving about the food, and just so giddy to be out on a date!

my boo

my boo

We even agreed on the same beer (a rarity for us).

goodness

goodness

We even ordered dessert, best date ever.
Rhubarb Florentine:  rhubarb sauce with cream and peanut brittle.

dessert

dessert

 

OK….so….
The thing about Christiana is….well it’s a weird little town.  It’s actually an old military base that was taken over by hippies back in the 70’s. They turned it into a free-spirited, self-governed commune that basically has no laws.
We walked down a gravel road that had outdoor markets on both sides.  These markets weren’t selling your expected fruits or souvenirs. They were selling drugs. Lots and lots of drugs.  Every few feet would be a guy, a big dog, and a stand selling: marijuana, hash, bongs…you name it, they were selling it.
This is the part where I was getting a little uncomfortable. I’ve never done any kind of drug, (be proud mom), so it was just weird to be completely surrounded by it in all forms.
Also, there is one rule. DO NOT TAKE PICTURES.  There were huge signs everywhere that say “no camera/no pictures”.
We were told by several people that have been that  if you are caught taking pictures in Christiana you will get the crap beat out of you. Yikes!
**side note: cameras were allowed in the restaurant.
Thankfully we didn’t get beat up.
We had a great date night.
I love my husband.
The End.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Christiana

  1. Mitch Pearl

    Amy
    Just read this. What an interesting place. I, as is your mom, are very proud of you for never partaking in drugs. You will never regret it. I’m sure you were uncomfortable in that environment. The restaurant looked really cool and the food looked great too. I’m so glad you guys are able to be there and also glad you finally got a date night. We look forward to seeing you again soon. I love you! Dad

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

